jump to navigation

You Take Out Lisaikaraburu! (Recyclables) June 26, 2008

Posted by Mitch in Life in Japan, Rantings.
trackback

This will be my last blog as a 22 year old. I was chatting with my dad the other day and I was speculating that I’m getting old. Now, upon reading that, most of you will roll your eyes and moan about the fact that I’m making a big deal out of turning 23. I know that the age itself isn’t old and that people who are that age or older aren’t necessarily “old”. But the only thing that it freaking me out is the fact that I’m turning 23. It just seems much older than I feel. I suppose that I’m going to have to get used to that.

School this week has been boring, but I’ve now taken to putting movies and the like on my iPod the night before school and watching them when I’m doing nothing. Today’s offering was Jurassic Park, through which I marvelled that it still looks as cutting edge as it did when it was first released 15 years ago. Tomorrow morning, Brooke and I are setting out early for the 8am train. Rather comically, we’ll be arriving in Tokyo at about 3pm. That’s how far away I live from the capital!

Today was only funny in the fact that it saw Julie describe the author of the textbook we use, New Horizon, as “a major league asshole”. It also saw me yelling expletives at someone who almost knocked me off my bike, only to see a big group of my kids on the other side of the road. Ah well – they get a real education with Mitchi-sensei!

I’ve not got much to report. It’s now official that my successor won’t be taking my apartment and therefore, Julie dropped hints that I should clean it ALL out. I can assure you, there is no way on God’s Green Earth that I’ll be tidying up all the crap that has been left in this apartment over the years. There are kendo sticks, cricket bats, two ironing boards, a cupboard full of weird stuff to use in lessons, wardrobes full of lesson plans and flashcards etc. It’s a veritable hodgepodge of teaching English paraphernalia. And I am quite unwilling to be the poor mug who has to bag it all up and throw it out, especially as Japanese binmen are the most picky people I’ve ever encountered. If you put the plastic label from a bottle of Coke in with the bottles, your bin bag will be left where you placed it; the binmen having refused to take it as you left the label on. You’re supposed to sort your rubbish in many countries, but here, you actually have to take it apart. When I first moved here, I purged my apartment of all the ashtrays. One had to be deconstructed because it was burnable (made out of wood), non-burnable (plastic bits) and metal (inner tray). Therefore, it had to be physically broken apart in order to be put in the right bags. It’s a royal waste of time and luckily, my bin men don’t seem to be as bad as others. In the past, if they’ve left my bags there, I’ve neglected to taken them in to reorganise them and they’ve eventually just been taken.

Anyway, I’m going to stop waffling on and go and pack for tomorrow’s trip!

Till next time!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

