jump to navigation

Breezin’ Through Another Week June 18, 2008

Posted by Mitch in General, Life in Japan.
trackback

Aside from the fact that I have to work this Sunday, things are starting to look up. For the next two days, I’m based at my favourite elementary school, teaching the kids about hobbies and animals. On Friday, not only do I get paid again, but I get to pay for the rest of my holiday to Okinawa and book my train tickets to Tokyo for my birthday. Then, next week, I only have 3 days at school and I’m then off, gallivanting around the capital! Today, I was also given my final schedule for July. I have 6 more days at elementary (including 3 at the ESIDL, but I’m sure I can just suck it up and enjoy it for the last time). I’m also going to take in my camera and snap some of the little darlings.

The shining crown of the good things that have occurred this week must be the fax I received today. I now have a date for my return. I leave humble Kuga at 10:35am on the morning of Tuesday 5th August. Travelling via Hiroshima, I make my way back up to Tokyo. Strangely, the people who booked my trip thought it best I spend a night in Tokyo at my own expense, which was nice of them. So, bright and early the next morning, I will make my way to Narita International Airport and board a Virgin Atlantic plane bound for London Heathrow. I therefore arrive back in the homeland on Wednesday 6th August at 3:30pm. How great is that? The only downside (there always has to be one), is the fact that I’ll therefore be in West London, jet-lagged, tired and utterly gross from well over 24 hours journeying and somehow have to make my way back to Prickwillow, Cambridgeshire. It’s not going to be a pretty sight and I may collapse a few times along the way, but I’ll be back in England, breathing English air and living an English life.

That said, I was in class today and the enormity of what I’ve been doing for the past 11 months hit me. I’ve lived in a foreign country where I have little to no communication skills. I’ve survived a horribly humid summer and a bitter, heating-less winter. I’ve dealt with arsey kids and incompetent teachers. I’ve cleaned schools, I’ve done gardening. I’ve survived in a country that holds mystery for many people worldwide. And I’ve lived to tell the tale. To be honest, I don’t care if none of you lot are, but I’m proud of myself. I don’t think it takes any strength of character to live abroad, but it does take the willingness to attempt it, even if you fail doing it. I firmly believe that anyone can get off their arse and move to a foreign country, but it doesn’t prevent me from feeling proud that I was one of those who gave it a go. I know that I want to stay in England for a bit longer than I did in between my last stint abroad and now, but being here has told me that the world really is my oyster and there’s nothing to stop me from seeing a lot of it. I truly have caught the urge to travel, but my Grandmother tells me that this is simply in my blood – the Wilson travel bug, as she called it. My Grandfather was in the Royal Engineers and lived in many places, including Libya and Germany before returning to England and settling. However, even then they both went off on coach tours all over Europe. I know a person who used to work on a cruise ship and has consequently seen most countries with a coastline. I truly envy him for having seen so much of the world and I hope that one day, I can say that same. What’s the point of being on this planet when you only see that tiny square of it that you inhabit? It just strikes me as wasteful, is all.

Till next time!

Comments»

1. dad - June 27, 2008

Royal Engineers? Don’t tell your Grandfather. It was the REME.


Leave a Reply

