jump to navigation

I Should Tell You…Part V February 12, 2008

Posted by Mitch in Life in Japan.
trackback

Another week has passed, nearing me to the day on which my time here in Japan will be over. That said, there’s still quite a bit of time to go until then.

I’m going to Malaysia at the end of March to visit Hiza, with whom I lived in both my first and second years at university. At the end of April, I’m going on a group trip to Seoul in South Korea, having found that I simply do not have the finances to make it to America right now. That takes us to May. From thereon in, I’ve got two full months at school and the first section of July and then I’m back. For good. How fast it’s all gone. In the mornings, when I’m making my way to school, I count down the days, but after another day is over, teaching-wise, I lament that the time really is slipping away.

I’ve been asked to include more random information about Japan in entries and therefore will endeavour to include interesting tidbits. If anyone has any questions about Japan or life here, please do not hesitate to ask me and I will strive to answer them. But now, on with the things I’ve thought up.

1. I’ve come to the conclusion that, generally speaking, the Japanese cannot learn other languages. Of course, there are people who can, but on the whole, because of their obsession with katakana and their inability to properly pronounce a word that doesn’t end with a vowel hinders them somewhat. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve heard the sentence “Ma-i fe-ba-li-to ka-ra i-zu le-do” (My favourite colour is red). Therefore, I’ve now ascertained that they cannot learn languages. All languages.

2. Japanese drunkards are fun. Having met many on my nights out, including Alan, the PE teacher from Kuga Junior High, they really are a fun bunch. Especially as all it takes is a couple of swigs of beer and they’re gone. When I was reading through some letters written by my final year students at Junior High, thanking teachers in English for having helped them, I was most amused to come across someone thanking Alan, noting that one of the memories that will stay with them forever is when Alan got steaming drunk at a football camp!

3. I’ve mentioned it in a previous entry, but the sheer concentration of music in this country is astounding. Music during lunch, music when you cross the road, music when a train is approaching, music to tell you what time it is. The sad thing is, I no longer even hear it, and if I do, it really isn’t that big a deal.

Right – I really can’t think of anymore, but as I said, I’m going to start taking notes of things that are weird/interesting/bizarre.

Till next time!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

