jump to navigation

The Last Night Of The World August 1, 2007

Posted by Mitch in General.
trackback

Well, we all knew this time would roll around at sometime, but it seems to have accelerated its dawning just for me. Actually, I’ve been back from Uni for 5 weeks now and as I’ve been working, it hasn’t gone by as fast as I’m sure it could have, but this last week has just rushed by. Tonight is my last night in Prickwillow – tomorrow I’m leaving the security of this sleepy country idyll for Bournemouth and then London to say goodbye to both sets of grandparents. On Saturday, I have to be at Heathrow Airport at 3pm in order to bid the life I’ve known in England goodbye for a year. I’ve been in contact with people that are already in Japan and who are loving their time there, so I’m quite looking forward to it. But I’m also a bit sad – it’s definitely the end of an era, as this marks the true end of my University life.

But everyone has to move on and change is hard and painful and I also suppose that what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger. I was the one who signed up for this Japan malarkey and so I’m going to see it through to the end because I don’t do quitting.

My Japanese learning has gone a little to one side at the moment which is worrying, but I’ve got a minimum of a year there, so I’m sure that it’ll get better when I have to use it every day.

Today I’ve taken the day off work (making yesterday my last day at Melrose Books) to get up-to-date with my ironing just so none of my clothes are left behind. However, I’m only allowed 20kg worth of luggage which will require quite a serious amount of scaling down. Luckily I’m having lots of stuff shipped out so my year’s supply of toothpaste and deodorant will get to Japan eventually.

For those of you who are interested, the first few days of my life in Japan will be spent in the Keio Plaza Hotel, in Tokyo. If you Google it, you can have a look at the accommodation they’re providing me with for my Orientation. Then I get flown over to Ube Airport and let loose on the Japanese countryside – thank God for my little digital camera for snapping sights that I’m sure I’ll tire of over a year but on first sight will be breathtaking. Well, here’s hoping anyway.

Right – I’m going to sign off now to carry on with my packing (well, actually, I’m going to go start packing!) I hope everyone has fun this weekend – think of me on a 12 hour flight sat scrunched up, dying for a wee but scared to disturb the sleeping person next to me…

Till next time!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

